Tuesday, February 27, 2007

NCAA's Dark Horses Euthanized

Yes it is Tuesday and this blog forgot to post.

Resultantly, this blog is going to post some teams that have been eliminated from the NCAAs.

Ivy League: (No conference tournament, out of contention for regular season crown):
Cornell, Columbia, Brown, Harvard, Dartmouth, Princeton

Horizon League: (Conference tournament began tonight, these teams lost):
Cleveland State, Detroit, and alas, UW-Milwaukee. It truly was a rebuilding year for the Panthers.

Big South: (Conference tournament began tonight, these teams lost):
Radford, Coastal Carolina, Charleston Southern, Liberty

Independents: (Technically could receive at-large bids, but this is so unlikely this blog is ruling that out):
Utah Valley State, North Dakota State, Indiana-Purdue Fort Wayne, Texas-Pan American, New Jersey Tech, Savannah State, South Dakota State, Chicago State, UC-Davis, Winston-Salem State, Longwood

Ohio Valley: (Conference tournament began tonight, these teams lost):
Southeast Missouri State, Morehead State, Tennessee State, Murray State

(These teams hadn't qualified for the OVC tournament):
Jacksonville State, Eastern Illinois, Tennessee-Martin

Big East: (These teams will not qualify for the conference tournament):
South Florida, Cincinnati, Rutgers

This applies to Pun City in that Ivy pick Cornell is out, and Big South backup Coastal Carolina is out. Surprisingly enough, that's the only casualties through Day 1 of Championship Week-plus.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home